Umber (60)

October 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

I looked at the business card in my hand.  It said “Cliff View Assisted Living Center.”  Okay.  I guessed that would be my next stop.

But I decided to go back home first and get the talking holy card and maybe some other photos.  I crammed as many of them as I could into my handbag, then set out for the nursing home, wondering who I was going to find there.  I put my handbag on the seat next to me, and noticed a photo of Vera as an older woman.  She wore a heavy wool coat, support hose and orthopedic shoes.  There were other old women in the picture as well.  They all wore dark pillbox hats and held rosaries.  Someone had written “Alter Society, 1955” in the lower right hand corner.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (60) at Circuitous Route.

meta