Umber (19.6 – Vera’s Story)

March 19, 2012 § 6 Comments

I never realized how many long hours my mother spent toiling away  at the farm on Elm Creek, until she was gone and we took over the chores she left behind.  Papa farmed from sunup to sundown as usual.   My sisters, Kate and Myrna, helped in the fields, took care of mama’s garden, did the wash and tended to the animals.  I still went to school, but was also given the job of cooking for the elders on Sundays, and for papa, my sisters, and Ervin all the rest of the week.   

Raising Ervin became my responsibility.  He followed me around like my shadow, whining to be held, his nose running, his diaper hanging halfway to the ground until I remembered to change it.  He was a lot of work, and I would have resented it more if I hadn’t found the routine of caring for him somewhat comforting.  It kept me busy in the evenings, when I would otherwise have missed my mother the most.  

§ 6 Responses to Umber (19.6 – Vera’s Story)

  • Ann says:

    I can see little Ervin very clearly. Really enjoying the daily installments. About ready to go back and re-read from start to current, though. Is that easily done here?

  • Hey, Ann, glad you like them. I goofed and scheduled two for today–19.7 wasn’t supposed to show up until tomorrow.

    I think the only way to reread them would be to go to the bottom and click on “older posts” twice, so you go back two pages, find “Umber (2)” and start from there. Perhaps I should compile them all into one document and re-post it so it would be easier to read through.

    I hear it’s been cold out there–? It is strangely warm up here. Two weeks ago, the week of the annual dogsled races, we still had about 5′ of snow here, which is normal. Then it warmed up into the 60’s/70’s, and now the snow is almost gone, I saw a robin and a butterfly yesterday, and people are walking around in their shorts and flip-flops. Usually it is still snowing in April…

  • Ann Yee says:

    Cold here? Not really, although the weather is so strange anymore, I can’t keep up with it. We have trees in full bloom, and my allergies are already here. I used to love extreme weather, now it’s rather unsettling…

  • Ann says:

    You were right about our weather! I guess I’ve been so busy lately, I hadn’t really noticed. But it started snowing last night, and this morning we woke up to a winter wonderland. We’ll have to uncover the car. This is nuts. I don’t think any of us were dreaming of a white spring.

  • surprise3 says:

    Whoopee….I think I am finally back IN with Circuitous Route/Word Press… don’t what I did wrong but now I will someday know ‘the rest of the story’. Keep the words and pictures flowing, girl. I’m hooked.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (19.6 – Vera’s Story) at Circuitous Route.

meta

