Umber (19.11 –Vera’s Story)

March 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

I couldn’t find Ervin anywhere.  I checked the rope swing, the hen house, the garden, no Ervin.  I looked in the hay loft and the outhouse.  I hollered his name a few times, but he didn’t answer me.  I checked the pumpkin field where he liked to dig holes with a spade, but there was no sign of him there, either.  I was starting to worry that he might have gone down to the creek.  He wasn’t supposed to go there by himself, but he could have gone looking for berries.  I started down the path to the creek, planning how I would scold him when I caught up with him, when I heard Ervin laughing overhead.  He was sitting in the old crooked apple tree, higher than he’d ever climbed before.  “Look at me, Verey!” he said.  “You walked right underneath me three times and never knew I was here!”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (19.11 –Vera’s Story) at Circuitous Route.

meta

