Umber (19.24–Vera’s Story)

April 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

I began to sob, furious at my lot in life.  If everyone else got to rest, and if Ervin got to dally around outside on Sundays, why was I cooped up in the kitchen scraping burnt food from the bottom of a saucepan?  I looked up and saw that my father and grandma were standing in the doorway looking severe in their black garbs.  Grandma was obviously shocked.  I didn’t know what they would do to me, but I was so angry I didn’t care–almost.  They stood staring at me in silence for a moment, long enough for a feeling of dread to creep into my soul. 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (19.24–Vera’s Story) at Circuitous Route.

meta

