Umber (19.39 –Vera’s Story)

April 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

The next time I went into the church of St. Agnes, I wore one of Kate’s scarves, a white one printed with red and yellow roses.  Alfred was squirmy, so I didn’t stay long.  On my way out of the church, I stopped in the vestibule and picked up a little booklet entitled The Mysteries of the Rosary.  I read the table of contents, from The Annunciation to The Assumption.  The words sounded familiar, as if I had heard them a long time ago.  From my mother.  I concluded that, before she married Papa, my mother had been a Catholic.  Perhaps, somehow, those statues, the incense, the Latin hymns, and the mysterious doors might lead me back to the beautiful world my mother had come from, maybe all the way back to Picardy and to the source of the stories she had told me. 

In spite of the objections my family would raise, I was going to take up my mother’s faith.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (19.39 –Vera’s Story) at Circuitous Route.

meta

