Umber (47.38 –Oleander’s Story)

September 14, 2012 § 1 Comment

No matter how dismal or baffling life seemed, I could always cheer myself up by playing with my paper dolls.  Some Mama had bought for me, others we’d made.  Besides a bride, a groom, and a flower-girl, I had Shirley Temple, Judy Garland and Amelia Earhart.  There was Old King Cole, Humpty Dumpty, and Rudy Vallee.  My favorites were the ones I’d made myself: Miss Brigid’s sister Siobhan; Mama, Daddy, my teacher, Mrs. White, who for some reason had jet-black hair; Miss Brigid, Miss Julie and her horse (I still liked the horse), and Silvertip.

My best friend at school was a little girl named Frieda, so one Friday after school I decided to make a Frieda paper and an Oleander paper doll.  I drew them on cardboard from a cereal box Mama had given me, and cut them out carefully with Miss Brigid’s scissors.  Then I got out my tablet paper and colored pencils, and made beautiful party dresses with little white tabs to hold the dresses onto the dolls’ flat shoulders.  Frieda’s dress was orange and pink, and mine was black and yellow, just like a bumblebee.  Then I drew the most wonderful cake, four layers high, with pink frosting and maraschino cherries on top.  I found an old manila envelope, and decorated the outside of it to look like the front of our house.  I cut out the door and the windows, and put the Freida and Oleander dolls inside, so their faces showed in the windows.  I added the pink cake and a teapot, and closed the flap on the envelope.

§ One Response to Umber (47.38 –Oleander’s Story)

  • surprise3 says:

    I just love this; can’t help but wonder if any of this or some of the impressions at least are autobiographical….likely not…but wonderful in your sense of how it could be for Oleander.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (47.38 –Oleander’s Story) at Circuitous Route.

meta

