Umber (65)

October 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

With great relief I told the receptionist, “Actually, I was just stopping by to see Ms. Tibbs.”

“Are you a relative?” she asked, poised to notify security about the matronly intruder in the lobby.

“I’m an old friend of the family.”

“I didn’t know she had any family.”

In a louder voice she called out,”Miss Tibbs, this person says she’s a friend of your family.  Do you know her?”

The old white-haired lady in the periwinkle pantsuit turned her head slowly.  I noticed that her head and right arm shook with slight but persistent tremors.  When she managed to turn around to look at me, she smiled a broad, lopsided smile and replied, “Why, indeed I do know her!  Hello, Miss Marla, it’s been a long, long time.  Please come to my room and we’ll chat.  “Benny,” (she addressed the young nursing assistant who’d been helping her to her room,) “Be a dear and bring us some tea and macaroons, would you please?”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (65) at Circuitous Route.

meta

