Umber (73)

October 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

It’s been so good to see you, Miss Oleander Tibbs.  I hope to see you again,” I said, thinking I would pay the old woman another visit, since apparently no one else did.

“Miss Tibbs.  No one has called me that in decades,” she told me.  But I’m afraid I won’t be here long enough for another visit.  My daughters are coming to take me home tomorrow.  I haven’t seen my grandchildren for weeks!”

She stood up.  I noticed that there was more color in her pale cheeks now.  She reached for a sweater and said, “I’ll walk you to the door.”  As we started down the wide hallway, I noticed that the nameplate next to the door now said “Oleander Eugene.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Umber (73) at Circuitous Route.

meta

